SR: I’m So Excited EN

Pedro Almodóvar’s I’m So Excited (2013)
Stands in front of you whole and uncovered in its striking colours of the mise-en-scéne consisting of the uniforms and the pictograms of the airport signs.
I saw it with my friend and, though I am not a puritan, I almost blushed in certain moments. But eventually, I felt pleased by the shock.
Pedro’s film aims mostly to disrupt the spectators. You take it like a small dose of mescaline that goes away after some time.
Almodovar takes the image of a SAILOR from queer Avant-Garde cinema – Pink Narcissus (1971), Fireworks (1947) – and transforms it into the picture of a PILOT, much more fitting to these days.
And Antonio Banderas and Penelope Cruz excel in their refreshingly cameo roles!

Leave a Reply

